Deans and

Vice Presidents briefed the

Board on their preliminary

budget proposals

MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING of the MSU BOARD OF TRUSTEES January 30, 1981

President Mackey called the meeting to order in the Union Building at 2:15 p.m., January 30, 1981.

Present: Trustees Bruff, Fletcher, Howe (arrived at 2:40 p.m.), Krolikowski, (arrived at 3:54 p.m.), Lick, Martin (arrived at 2:56 p.m.), Reed (arrived at 4:53 p.m.), and Sawyer; President Mackey, Provost Winder, Vice President Breslin, Cantlon, Dickinson, Stewart, Thompson and Turner; Acting Vice President Schonbein, Associate Vice President Wilkinson, Assistant to the President Simon, Faculty Liaison Group, and Student Liaison Group.

1. Purpose and Format of Meeting

President Mackey stated that the purpose of this special meeting is for the Deans of the several colleges and Vice Presidents to brief the Board of Trustees on their preliminary budget proposals. President Mackey emphasized that this was part of the overall planning process and the final recommendations will be submitted to the Board of Trustees at a future meeting.

Each Dean and Vice President made a brief presentation followed by questions from the Board of Trustees. The order of the presentations were as follows:

Dean Alan M. Hollingsworth, College of Arts and Letters
Dean Richard U. Byerrum, College of Natural Science
Dean Gwen Andrew, College of Social Science
Dean Richard J. Lewis, College of Business
Dean Erwin P. Bettinghaus, College of Communication Arts and Sciences
Dean Judith E. Lanier, College of Education
Dean W. Donald Weston, College of Human Medicine
Acting Dean Philip E. Greenman, College of Osteopathic Medicine
Dean John R. Welser, College of Veterinary Medicine

Recessed at 5:20 p.m.

The meeting reconvened at 7:10 p.m. Presentations continued as follows:

Provost Clarence L. Winder, Office of the Provost
Dean James H. Anderson, College of Agriculture and Natural Resources
Dean Lawrence W. Von Tersch, College of Engineering
Dean Lois A. Lund, College of Human Ecology
Dean Isabelle K. Payne, College of Nursing
Dean Robert L. Green, College of Urban Development
Acting Dean Charles S. Scarborough, Lyman Briggs College
Dean Barbara C. Steidle, James Madison College
Dean Ralph H. Smuckler, International Studies and Programs
Dean Raymond D. Vlasin, Lifelong Education Programs
Vice President Jack Breslin, Administration and Public Affairs
Vice President Kenneth W. Thompson, Finance and Operations and Treasurer
Vice President Moses Turner, Student Affairs and Services

Adjourned at 11:12 p.m.

Ceal Mackey
President

Loca Wiskinson
Acting Secretary